Skip to main content

CEHS Student Organizations                                   

American Sign Language Club

Faculty Contact: Brian Burns, brian.burns@usu.edu
Club President: Josette Savea, josettesvea@yahoo.com 
Department: Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education
Description: The ASL club is for anyone wishing to improve their use and understanding of American Sign Language and to learn more about the Deaf community and Deaf culture.

Council for Exceptional Students

Contact: Heather Weese, heather.weese@usu.edu 
Department: Special Education and Rehabilitation

Deaf Education Student Association (DESA)

Contact: Jan Kelley-King, jankelleyking@usu.edu & Curt Radford, curt.radford@usu.edu
Department: Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education
Description: The Deaf Education Student Association is comprised of deaf and hearing students at Utah State University who are interested in working with and learning more about the Deaf population. 

Family Finance

Contact: Alena Johnson, alena.johnson@usu.edu 
Department: Human Development and Family Studies
Description: The purpose of the Family Finance Club is to provide majors and other interested students opportunities for leadership, service, and social interaction.  The club usually has two activities as well as opening and closing socials.

Gerontology Student Association

Contact: Yin Liu, yin.liu@usu.edu 
Department: Human Development and Family Studies

Human Development and Family Studies Club

Faculty Contact: Aryn Dotterer, hdfssa.usu@gmail.com 
Club President: brenna Sorensen, brenna.sorensen2@gmail.com, hdfssa.usu@gmail.com 
Department: Human Development and Family Studies
Description: The HDFS Club strives to rise by lifting others by being involved in and reaching out to the community, exploring career and professional opportunities, learning outside of the classroom, and serving others.

Instructional Technology Student Association (ITSA)

Contact: Sheri Haderlie, sherie.haderlie@usu.edu 
Department: Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences           
Description: ITSA is dedicated to the promotion, implementation, and improvement of effective instructional design in education and corporate instruction.  The organization works with students, faculty, and alumni to create and maintain communication with education and industry professionals.

Marriage and Family Therapy Student Association (MFTSA)

Faculty Contact: Dave Robinson, dave.r@usu.edu 
Club President: Alex Rawle,  j.alexrawle@gmail.com
Department: Human Development and Family Studies
Description: The MFTSA is comprised of undergraduate and graduate students who are interested in promoting and learning about marriage and family therapy.  Activities include learning more about the field of MFT, learning about graduate programs and te application processes, promoting the USU Marriage and Family Therapy Clinic, and raising awareness about marriage and family therapy at USU and in the community.

National Student Speech, Language and Hearing Association (NSSLHA)

Faculty Contact: Sonia Manuel-Dupont, sonia.manuel-dupont@usu.edu 
Club President: Emily Robinson, emilyskisdiamonds@gmail.com 
Department: Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education
Description: NSSLHA is a student service organization for undergraduate and graduate students in Speech Language Pathology and Audiology.  Each year we have several community service projects involving literacy.  Our students provide literacy services to children and adults, in Cache Valley and internationally, in schools, libraries, homes, orphanages, and communities. We welcome participation for all students at all levels of study in Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education.

Parks and Recreation Club

Contact: Nate Trauntvein, nate.trauntvein@usu.edu
Department: Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Description: The purpose of the Parks and Recreation Club is to provide majors and other interested students opportunities to meet on a regular basis to discuss professional opportunities related to internships, employment, conference attendance, etc.  We also have socials on a regular basis and conduct community service and fundraising activities.

Pre-Occupational Therapy Club

Staff Contact: Raquel Friddle, raquel.friddle@usu.edu 
Club President: Jordan Jones, jordanlynnjones21@gmail.com 
Department: Kinesiology and Health Science

Pre-Physical Therapy Club

Faculty Contact: Eadric Bressel, eadric.bressel@usu.edu 
Club President: Jesse Bradshaw, jesse11.bradshaw@gmail.com 
Department: Kinesiology and Health Science
Description: The aim of the pre=physical therapy club includes students interested in physical therapy and occupational therapy.  The club provides unique opportunities for networking among physical therapists within and outside the community, and is an excellent resource for learning more about the physical therapy profession and the requirements for entry into the physical therapy program.

Psi-Chi Club

Faculty Contact: Jennifer Grewe, jennifer.grewe@usu.edu 
Club President: Will Walker, william.walker@aggiemail.usu.edu 
Department: Psychology
Description: Psi Chi (The National Honor Society in Psychology) is an organization that aims to encourage, stimulate, and maintain excellence in scholarship and advancing the science of psychology.  The Psi Chi invites undergraduates interested in psychology to participate in activities scheduled throughout the academic year.  An example of some activities that have been sponsored by the Psi Chi include inviting professionals from the community to talk about important issues and career opportunities related to psychology, and inviting graduate students and faculty to share the aspects involved in pursuing graduate education in psychology or related fields.  Opportunities to participate in research projects conducted by USU psychology faculty are also announced. 

Psychology Club

Faculty Contact: Jennifer Grewe, jennifer.grewe@usu.edu 
Club President: Haylee Downey, hayleedowney@outlook.com 
Department: Psychology

Student Academy of Audiology (SAA)

Contact: Heather Jensen, heather.jensen@usu.edu 
Department: Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education
Description: Utah State University’s chapter of SAA is a service oriented AuD student organization committed to helping communities within the realm of Audiology.