Anne Carroll Moore Children's Library

The Anne Carroll Moore Library is the children and young adult extension of the USU Merrill Cazier Library. The collection houses over 25,000 items. The library serves all current USU students, faculty, staff, and alumni, as well as the patrons of EBLS. Circulation privileges are granted to individuals with a current USU ID card. The Moore Library is located on the 2nd floor of EBLS and is open Monday-Friday, 8:00 AM-4:00 PM, except on USU and EBLS no school days/holidays. To contact the library, please call (435)797-3093.

Ann Carroll Moore was born in Limerick, Maine, on July 12, 1871. She became children's librarian of the Pratt Institute Free Library. After ten years at Pratt, she assumed the position of Superintendent of Work with Children in the New York Public Library. In 1899, she wrote to the American Library Association to ask for the creation of a Children's Division. A year later she was elected president of the new Children's Library Section. Anne Carroll Moore retired from the New York Public Library in 1941. She influenced library children's services not only in the United States but in Japan, Russia, Sweden, India and many other countries. Ann Carroll Moore died in 1961 and is buried in Limerick, Maine. In 1927, she was invited by USU President, E.G. Peterson, to guest lecture on campus. She fell in love with Logan, and before returning to New York, she wrote to her publishing and author friends. She asked them to donate books for a children's collection on campus. One such author was Theodore Geisel, more commonly known as Dr. Seuss. The collection was named in her honor and opened in 1937.  

Over time, the collection grew and moved from the campus library to EBLS in 1957. Today, the library carries on the same philosophy of offering the best in children's literature, as well as providing resources Anne never dreamed of, such as electronic databases and the Internet. Through the generous patronage of the JR and Theresa Allred family, the library hosts an author visit each year.  These visits have included authors such as Brandon Mull (Fablehaven), Tyler Whitesides (Janitors), Jessica Day George (Dragon Slippers), and Jennifer Nielsen (The False Prince).